ADVERTISEMENT

Let's Talk Defense

• Thread starter anon_0xbraxz5jfzp2
  • Start date
A

anon_0xbraxz5jfzp2

There has been so much skepticism expressed about BVG's defense and often so little understanding, I thought we might have a step by step discussion about defensive football in college. Now, I am a track and field guy who played high school football, got to watch Ara coach because his practices were in the track area, coached high school cross country and track and shared offices and locker rooms with some pretty good high school football coaches, so I know a little about the sport. But there are clearly guys on this site who know a lot more about it than I do. But I am a retired teacher and I like to write, so my main contributions will be to organize the topics and write the first drafts. It is always easier to respond to a draft than to get it started.

I anticipate an interesting discussion. And I hope members feel free to ask questions. Also questions are much more useful to the discussion than name calling or other kinds of dissing without input.

I am just going to start. I am not going to write all of the drafts at the get go, so I cannot know exactly how this series will develop. But I expect to have these three topics:

A. Essential nomenclature or terms.
1. Gaps
2. 2 Techniques
B. Formations
1. 5-2
2. 3-4
3. 4-3

Gaps

Coaches must be able to tell players in simple and clear terms how and where to line up. Gaps are the spaces between offensive linemen. Running backs run through them and defensive linemen have responsibilities to defend them. That is interesting to me. The battle is between the DL and the OL, but the goal of the DL is to dominate an OL to defend a gap. In some defenses, LBs have gap responsibility, and blitzes are designed to go through different gaps. So gaps are a big deal.