ADVERTISEMENT

I’m not a recruiting expert but

Dec 29, 2005
I was wondering why ND only has one verbal out of the top 10 in the state of Indiana for 2022? Additionally, only one other top 10 prospect from IN even has ND listed in their top 5.

I know IN isn’t a football hotbed for recruiting but I’d think ND would go after a few more of the states top 5-10 players though.

I was wondering why ND only has one verbal out of the top 10 in the state of Indiana for 2022? Additionally, only one other top 10 prospect from IN even has ND listed in their top 5.

I know IN isn’t a football hotbed for recruiting but I’d think ND would go after a few more of the states top 5-10 players though.
I am sure that, if we thought they were good prospects for us, we’d be offering them. But as someone mentioned, the #8 guy in Indiana might be the #88 guy in Florida or a Georgia.

Reactions: shabak

Once in a blue moon there’s a Jaylon Smith and we get him.

Reactions: Kelso86
It is interesting though for a few reasons.

1. This is the most four stars I have ever seen come from Indiana.
2. Coach Kelly has an excellent track record with Indiana players at ND. The ones ND take typically are great contributors.

Looking at this list, the top rated Indiana kid is Caden Curry at #10, and he has an offer from ND.

Then it is Goodwin at #69 with no offer.

Then Cooper at 117 with no offer from the Irish (but no offers from any other of the top football programs either).

Brady Allen at 121 (QB I don't think we are interested in and is committed to Purdue).

Joey Tanana at 179 - committed to the Irish

This is definitely a talent-packed year in Indiana. Seven guys in the Rivals 250, so top-heavy. That's gotta be higher than average.

I thought Ohio-Michigan-Indiana was one recruiting region that happens to have a couple of state lines cutting through.

Joey Tanana is no second...what is the word I am looking for... fiddle, no second fiddle.