ADVERTISEMENT

Finally, Golson to FSU seems done.

IrishBlooded

All Star
Oct 2, 2009
LINK (per report just now from Fox Sports)

Everett Golson will transfer to Florida State, the former Notre Dame quarterback told FOX Sports Tuesday.

Golson picked FSU after visiting Florida State as well as Georgia and Florida last week.

"This past weekend has been a defining moment in my life as I am proud to say I am a graduate of the University of Notre Dame," Golson said in a statement to FOX Sports. "The support I've received there over the past four years has helped strengthen my integrity, wisdom and character. I would like to thank all of the coaches who spent time speaking with me these past few weeks and considered adding me to their football programs. Their interest and sincerity was truly humbling. After much thought and careful consideration, I will utilize my fifth year of eligibility to join the Florida State University Seminoles. To coach Jimbo Fisher, the Florida State football team, staff, alumni and fans, thank you for allowing me to become part of the Seminoles family. I can't wait to get started."

The 6-foot, 200-pound senior graduated from Notre Dame on Sunday. He will be eligible to play in 2015.

At FSU, he will try to replace Jameis Winston, who sparked the Noles to the national title in his redshirt freshman season and ended up losing only one game in his two years as the team's starting QB. Winston's backup, redshirt junior Sean Maguire, had emerged from spring ball as the team's expected starter. Maguire led FSU to a 23-17 overtime victory over No. 17 Clemson last season, going 21-of-39 in his lone start in place of Winston, who had been suspended for the game.